Format: CD
Release Date: 5/18/2018
Style(s): Third Stream
Availability: In Stock

The compositional atmosphere flutist Jamie Baum has created on Bridges is a mystifying thing. For her fourth album with the septet that appears here, her sixth overall as a leader, Baum investigates commonalities in the seemingly disparate musical practices in Jewish culture, of Southern Asia and the melodies of the Arabic maqam. It’s a heady premise, one fraught with potential pitfalls, but with a generous composer writing for an ensemble with whom she’s well acquainted, Bridges offers several distinct moods during nine pieces, three of which comprise The Shiva Suite, the program’s centerpiece. Click here to read the full review at DownBeat Magazine

1. From the Well
Length: 07:48
2. Song Without Words
Length: 06:51
3. There Are No Words
Length: 05:59
4. The Earthquake
Length: 05:56
5. Renewal
Length: 07:14
6. Contemplation
Length: 06:35
7. Joyful Lament
Length: 05:32
8. Mantra
Length: 04:23
9. Ucross Me
Length: 09:17
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 59:35
UPC: 016728150224