The Painted Lady Suite

Format: CD
Release Date: 6/22/2018
Style(s): Funk, Post Bop, Third Stream
Availability: In Stock

Michael Leonhart's new album is a testament to his glorious, unbridled ambition. He composed, arranged and conducted all the music on The Painted Lady Suite, an album that he also produced. He recruited more than 30 musicians- including guitarist Nels Cline and tenor saxophonist Donny McCaslin-for the recording sessions, during which he played trumpet, bass trumpet, French horn, mellophonium, electric bass, organ, pump orgran, mellotron, bass harmonica and bass melodica. The bulk of the album consists of the seven-part titular suite, which was inspired by Leonhart's fascination with migrating swarms of painted lady butterflies. - DownBeat Magazine Editors' Pick


Click here to read the full review at DownBeat Magazine

1. The Painted Lady Suite: Transformation in the Deserts of Mexico
Length: 06:16
2. The Painted Lady Suite: The Silent Swarm Over Paso
Length: 04:29
3. The Painted Lady Suite: The Experimental Forest, North Dakota
Length: 08:54
4. The Painted Lady Suite: Countdown to Saskatchewan
Length: 04:58
5. The Painted Lady Suite: The Arctic Circle
Length: 07:02
6. The Painted Lady Suite: 1500 Feet Above the Sahara (Night)
Length: 05:33
7. The Painted Lady Suite: 1500 Feet Above the Sahara (Day)
Length: 03:24
8. In the Kingdom of M.Q.
Length: 05:12
9. Music Your Grandparents Would Like
Length: 05:40
10. The Girl from Udaipur
Length: 06:55
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 58:23
UPC: 016728151924