Saxophone Colossus (Remastered)

Format: CD
Release Date: 3/21/2006
Album Personnel: Doug Watkins (Acoustic Upright Bass), Max Roach (Drums), Tommy Flanagan (Piano)
Style(s): Hard Bop
Availability: In Stock
Picture of SAXOPHONE COLOSSUS (RMST) (REIS) You Don't Know What Love Is - Sonny Rollins Source

Saxophone Colossus is arguably the most essential album in tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins’ oeuvre and a milestone in the hard bop style of jazz. Each of the five total tunes are self-contained masterpieces. The playful, calypso-infused “St. Thomas” is given its definitive version here. “Blue 7”, a Rollins-penned blues number contains one of his most quintessential solos. There is bristling energy between Rollins and his bandmates throughout the set, keeping the listener’s undivided attention throughout.

1. St. Thomas
Length: 06:46
2. You Don't Know What Love Is
Length: 06:27
3. Strode Rode
Length: 05:13
4. Moritat (Mack the Knife)
Length: 10:02
5. Blue 7
Length: 11:17
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 39:45
UPC: 025218810524