Bright New Day

Format: CD
Release Date: 6/21/2019
Label: Motema Music
Availability: In Stock

Inspired by the electric periods of three chief influences - Jaco Pastorius, Ornette Coleman, and Miles Davis - legendary jazz bassist Charnett Moffett's Bright New Day represents a new chapter in his expanding legacy of jazz innovation. Internationally acclaimed for his pyrotechnic upright acoustic bass work on his own recordings and with a virtual "who's who" of jazz, Moffett changes the game here, appearing for the first time exclusively with his fretless electric bass guitar and a new powerhouse touring band featuring rising-star violinist Scott Tixier, keyboard specialist Brian Jackson (known for his innovations with Gil Scott-Heron), drummer Mark Whitfield Jr, and electric guitarist Jana Herzen, a fellow Motema recording artist who happens also to be the founder and president of Motema.

1. Holy Spirit
Length: 05:01
2. Free the Slaves
Length: 04:56
3. Precious Air (feat. Jana Herzen)
Length: 04:51
4. O My God Elohim
Length: 04:51
5. Set It Free
Length: 06:56
6. Waterfalls
Length: 06:52
7. Netting
Length: 03:25
8. Bright New Day
Length: 07:43
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 44:35
UPC: 181212003338