50 Years MPS

Format: CD
Release Date: 10/19/2018
Label: MPS Records
Style(s): Post Bop, Fusion, Latin
Availability: In Stock

Variety, courage and quality: These characteristics accompany MPS as Germany's first jazz label since it's foundation by Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer. In 2018 MPS celebrates it's fiftieth anniversary. Today the catalogue contains almost 500 titles and combines recordings by countless jazz greats such as Oscar Peterson, George Duke, the Singers Unlimited, Monty Alexander, Baden Powell, the brothers Rolf and Joachim Kuhn, Joe Pass, Bill Evans, Albert Mangelsdorff, Dexter Gordon, Friedrich Gulda, Volker Kriegel, Stephane Grappelli, Dave Pike, Dizzy Gillespie to name but a few. Since the MPS catalogue found a new home at Edel in 2014, history has been updated in two ways. On the one hand, the immeasurable treasures of the label's back catalogue are made available again step by step. This takes place both in the form of the digital availability of all albums on all platforms and through the re-issues of selected albums in the highest fidelity. Parallel to this, MPS opens another chapter of new releases after a break of 30 years. The wide stylistic spectrum already includes recordings by Rolf Kuhn, China Moses, Lisa Bassenge, Django Deluxe, Hamilton de Holanda, Mari Boine, Malia, Erik Leuthauser, Malakoff Kowalski and Nicola Conte. Nicola Conte also created the compilation Cosmic Forest for MPS, which will be released at the end of September 2018. 50 Years MPS presents an overview of what MPS has to offer in terms of outstanding old and new recordings and is also intended to encourage people to delve further into the depths of the catalogue in order to discover the entire diversity and uniqueness of the works collected here.

1. Blues for Liebestraum (Joe Henderson with Billy Higgins, Ron Carter & Chick Corea)
Length: 07:57
2. Suspicious Child, Growing Up (Volker Kriegel)
Length: 04:00
3. The Devil Made Me Write This Piece (Don Ellis Band)
Length: 05:55
4. I Love You (The Oscar Peterson Trio)
Length: 05:12
5. Running (China Moses)
Length: 03:36
6. Au Right (George Duke)
Length: 03:24
7. Little Lady (Elvin Jones Jazz Machine)
Length: 06:26
8. Gleißende Helle (Erik Leuthäuser)
Length: 03:25
9. O Astronauta (Baden Powell)
Length: 02:25
10. Stina (Django Deluxe, NDR Bigband & Y'akoto)
Length: 02:32
11. Brown Skin Girl (Monty Alexander)
Length: 04:37
12. Unfolding (Malia)
Length: 04:56
13. Blues for Duane (Freddie Hubbard)
Length: 07:34
14. Ode to Billy Joe (Joe Pass)
Length: 03:28
15. Afro Black (Nicola Conte & Spiritual Galaxy)
Length: 05:21
16. Piano na Mangueira (Hamilton de Holanda)
Length: 04:00
17. Sconsolato (Mark Murphy)
Length: 03:47
18. Body and Soul (Rolf Kühn)
Length: 04:03
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 82:38
UPC: 4029759135258