The Best of Fourplay (2020 Remastered)

Format: CD
Release Date: 11/20/2020
Label: Evosound
Style(s): Smooth
Availability: In Stock

First released in 1997, The Best of Fourplay showcases the smooth jazz supergroup's signature style of indelible melodies, tasteful arrangements and addictive, toe-tapping grooves. Besides choice album cuts from Fourplay's Warner Bros repertoire, the 13-track compilation includes the bands's hit versions of Marvin Gaye's After The Dance', fronted by the silky-voiced El DeBarge, and the Isley Brothers 'Between The Sheets', featuring legendary soul singer, Chaka Khan. The new edition of the album includes the bonus track, 'The Closer I Get To You,' a duet between Patti Austin and Peabon Bryson. The album was remastered using hi-resolution digital transfers from the original analog master tapes. This will be available for the first time on SACD. A smooth jazz supergroup originally comprising Bob James (keyboards), Lee Ritenour (guitar), Nathan East (bass) and Harvey Mason (drums), Fourplay was formed in 1990 and patented an immediately identifiable pop-jazz sound with their self-titled debut album in 1991. It topped the US jazz charts and went on to sell over a million copies. Since then, the long-running group, despite a couple of line-up changes, has maintained it's popularity and, to date, has released 14 albums, three of which went gold, and earned six Grammy nominations.

1. Max-O-Max
2. 101 Eastbond
3. Higher Ground (feat. Take 6)
4. 4 Play and Pleasure
5. Chant
6. After the Dance (feat. El de Barge)
7. Bali Run
8. Play Lady Play
9. Between the Sheets (feat. Chaka Khan & Nathan East)
10. Amoroso
11. Any Time of Day
12. Why Can't It Wait Till Morning (feat. Phil Collins)
13. The Closer I Get to You (feat. Patti Austin and Peabo Bryson)
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 00:00
UPC: 4897012135556