Rhapsody [Vinyl]

Format: Vinyl
Release Date: 2/23/2018
Availability: In Stock
Picture of RHAPSODY (OGV) The Lost - Bobby Previte Source

Click here to view the CD version.


Highly respected drummer and prolific composer Bobby Previte continues his Terminals trilogy with Rhapsody, a song cycle on the subject of transit and migration. Subtitled In Transit: Terminals II, Previte's newest work was scored for acoustic sextet and features fellow composerimprovisers in guitarist Nels Cline, harpist Zeena Parkins, pianist John Medeski, vocalist, alto saxophonist Fabian Rucker and vocalist-erhu player Jen Shyu. This latest major work, released on RareNoise Records in February 2018, comes on the heels of Previte's powerful prior RareNoise release, Mass, a nine-part work scored for choir, pip organ and heavy metal trio. Rhapsody was commissioned by the Greenfield Prize at the Hermitage Artist Retreat in Florida and had it's world premiere on April 21, 2017 at New College in Sarasota.

1. Casting Off
Length: 06:59
2. All the Word
Length: 10:58
3. The Lost
Length: 09:14
4. When I Land
Length: 03:29
5. The Timekeeper
Length: 05:28
6. Coming About
Length: 01:43
7. All Hands
Length: 09:22
8. Last Stand / Final Approach
Length: 08:39
9. I Arrive
Length: 08:21
Album Details
Disc Count: 2
Total Length: 64:13
UPC: 5060197761448