on the tender spot of every calloused moment

Format: CD
Release Date: 6/12/2020
Availability: In Stock

Ambrose Akinmusire follows his acclaimed, genre-busting 2018 manifesto, Origami Harvest, with another visionary statement on his new album `on the tender spot of every calloused moment'. The trumpeter examines blackness on an uncompromising set of modern jazz laced with a heavy blues feeling. The album presents 11 new compositions by Akinmusire, featuring his quartet - pianist Sam Harris, bassist Harish Raghavan, drummer Justin Brown - with guest vocals from Genevieve Artadi and Jesus Diaz.

1. Tide of Hyacinth
Length: 08:19
2. Yessss
Length: 05:44
3. Cynical sideliners
Length: 02:21
4. Mr. Roscoe (consider the simultaneous)
Length: 05:57
5. An Interlude (that gets more intense)
Length: 06:38
6. reset (quiet victories&celebrated defeats)
Length: 03:25
7. Moon (the return amplifies the unity)
Length: 03:44
8. 4623
Length: 00:31
9. Roy
Length: 02:40
10. Blues (We measure the heart with a fist)
Length: 05:29
11. Hooded procession (read the names outloud)
Length: 03:18
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 48:06
UPC: 602508926198