Far from Over

Format: CD
Release Date: 8/25/2017
Label: ECM Records
Style(s): Post Bop
Picture of FAR FROM OVER Vijay Iyer Sextet - Far From Over (Teaser) Source

Click here to view the Vinyl version.


“Rambunctious, furiously funky…. (the sextet offers) the sort of head-bobbing drive and invention that has landed Iyer on multiple best-of lists over the years” – LA Times. Iyer reaches a new peak here. The album feature virtuoso improvisers leveraging a wealth of jazz history even as it pushes boldly forward. The music ranges from the thrillingly explosive to the cathartically elegiac, with melodic hooks, entrancing atmosphere, rhythmic muscle and an elemental spirit all part of the allure.

1. Poles
Length: 07:48
2. Far from Over
Length: 06:15
3. Nope
Length: 05:41
4. End of the Tunnel
Length: 02:17
5. Down to the Wire
Length: 07:43
6. For Amiri Baraka
Length: 03:22
7. Into Action
Length: 05:00
8. Wake
Length: 04:46
9. Good on the Ground
Length: 06:32
10. Threnody
Length: 08:24
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 57:48
UPC: 602557673869