Groove Juice: The Norman Granz Recordings + More

Format: CD
Release Date: 8/31/2018
Label: Verve
Style(s): Swing, Vocal
Availability: Backorder

A multilinguistic singer, songwriter, performer and comedian, Gaillard swung in every genre with a uniquely funny, yet seriously musical, style. More than a crazy cult figure, he’s a hero to kids for his ditty “Down by the Station,” and his “Oronee” songs pepper the soundtrack of the FX series, Better Things. This collection presents every track he cut for Norman Granz’s pre-Verve labels, plus 16 rare singles recorded for MGM, and 10 previously unreleased alternate tracks.

1. Opera in Vout (Groove Juice Symphony)
2. Tip Light
3. Arabian Boogie
4. Boip! Boip!
5. The Bartender's Just Like a Mother
6. The Hogan Song
7. Money, Money, Money
8. Puerto - Vootie
9. Momma's in the Kitchen But We've Got "Pop" on Ice
10. Down By the Station
11. I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance with You
12. Serenade to a Poodle
13. Communications
14. Organ - Oreene
15. Little Red Riding Woods
16. When Banana Skins Are Falling (I'll Come Sliding Back to You)
17. Bongo Cito
18. Soony Roony (Song of Yxabat)
19. Laughing in Rhythm
20. Sabroso
21. Babalu (Orooney)
22. Genius (Ride, Slim, Ride)
23. Federation Blues
24. Oh, Lady Be Good
25. For You
26. Yo Yo Yo
27. Chicken Rhythm
28. Yip Rock Hersey
29. The Hip Cowboy
30. I Only Have Eyes for You
31. As You Are
32. Taxpayers' Blues
33. Eatin' with the Boogie
34. St. Louis Blues
35. I Know What to Do
36. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
37. You Goofed
38. Make It Do
39. This Is My Love
40. Gomen Nasai (Forgive Me)
41. Potatoe Chips
42. Mishugana Mambo
43. Go, Man, Go
44. I'm in the Mood for Love
45. Gomen Nasai (Alternate Take)
46. Potatoe Chip (Alternate Take)
47. Make It Do (Alternate Take)
48. You Goofed (Alternate Take)
49. I'm in the Mood for Love (Alternate Take)
50. Mishugana Mambo (Alternate Take)
51. Go Man Go (Alternate Take)
52. I'm in the Mood for Love (Alternate Take)
53. Mishugana Mambo (Alternate Take)
54. Go Man Go (Alternate Take)
Album Details
Disc Count: 2
Total Length: 00:00
UPC: 602567075202