Format: CD
Release Date: 9/7/2018
Style(s): Vocal
Availability: Low Stock
Picture of INDIGO Don't Need the Real Thing - Kandace Springs Source
Picture of INDIGO Breakdown - Kandace Springs Source

Click here to view the Vinyl version.


Singer-songwriter and keyboardist Kandace Springs’ new R&B album will appeal not only to fans of her excellent Blue Note debut, Soul Eyes, but also to fans of releases such as José James’ 2017 disc Love In A Time Of Madness (Blue Note), where the vocals are spare but soulful, and the production is savvy and high-tech. Springs recruited an outstanding crew for the recording sessions, including drummer/producer Karriem Riggins, bassist Burniss Travis II, flutist Elena Pinderhughes, drummer Chris Dave, bassist Robert Hurst and guitarist Anthony Wilson (the latter two are Riggins’ frequent bandmates in Diana Krall’s group). On the album’s most jazz-leaning track, the original tune “Unsophisticated,” guest Roy Hargrove provides some potent trumpet work. - DownBeat Magazine Editors' Pick


Click here to read the full review at DownBeat Magazine

1. Don't Need the Real Thing
Length: 03:26
2. Breakdown
Length: 03:18
3. Fix Me
Length: 04:33
4. Indigo, Pt. 1
Length: 00:33
5. Piece of Me
Length: 05:09
6. 6 8
Length: 05:33
7. Indigo, Pt. 2
Length: 00:33
8. People Make the World Go 'Round
Length: 05:03
9. Unsophisticated (feat. Roy Hargrove)
Length: 03:27
10. Black Orchid
Length: 03:29
11. Love Sucks
Length: 03:55
12. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
Length: 05:40
13. Simple Things (feat. Scat Springs)
Length: 03:42
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 48:21
UPC: 602567218791