Helsinki Songs

Format: CD
Release Date: 8/31/2018
Label: ECM Records
Style(s): Post Bop
Availability: In Stock

With its overt lyricism, strong themes and a sense of perpetual melodic invention, Norwegian saxophonist Trygve Seim’s new album quickly identifies itself as a classic-in-the-making. Themes of dedication run through Seim’s Helsinki Songs album, a set of tunes composed – for the most part – in the Finnish capital, and radiating tributes in many directions. Here are songs referencing Igor Stravinsky and Jimmy Webb, pieces dedicated to each of Seim’s gifted bandmates, and tunes that tip the hat, obliquely, to Ornette Coleman and Bill Evans. The quartet plays superbly throughout, with outstanding solos from leader Seim and pianist Kristjan Randalu. Helsinki Songs was recorded in Oslo’s Rainbow Studio in January 2018 and produced by Manfred Eicher.

1. Sol's Song
Length: 06:03
2. Helsinki Song
Length: 07:54
3. New Beginning
Length: 07:03
4. Ciaccona per Embrik
Length: 06:00
5. Birthday Song
Length: 05:58
6. Sorrow March
Length: 07:52
7. Nocturne
Length: 04:48
8. Randalusian Folk Song
Length: 07:08
9. Katya's Dream
Length: 04:36
10. Morning Song
Length: 03:42
11. Yes Please Both
Length: 02:41
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 63:45
UPC: 602567515807