Lean On Me

Format: CD
Release Date: 9/28/2018
Style(s): Soul
Availability: Low Stock
Picture of LEAN ON ME Use Me - José James Source

Click here to view the Vinyl version.


Singer-songwriter José James is releasing Lean On Me, a tribute album including 12 of Bill Withers' most undeniable and soulful songs produced by Blue Note president Don Was and recorded in Capitol's legendary Studio B with a dream team band: Pino Palladino (bass), Kris Bowers (keys), Brad Allen Williams (guitar) and Nate Smith (drums). Withers' nuanced perspective on romantic love rings out: the ache of “Ain't No Sunshine,” echoed by Bowers' expressive Rhodes; the celebration of vulnerability on “Use Me,” featuring Takuya Kuroda's Voodoo-evoking brass arrangements; and the bittersweet balladry of “Hello Like Before,” here in a dreamy hue. And then there's “Lovely Day,” which displays Lalah Hathaway's voice dancing along with James’ to all that ineffable joy.


Click here for an exclusive interview with José James


1. Ain't No Sunshine
Length: 03:15
2. Grandma's Hands
Length: 04:10
3. Lovely Day (feat. Lalah Hathaway)
Length: 04:14
4. Lean On Me
Length: 04:57
5. Kissing My Love
Length: 05:33
6. Use Me
Length: 04:41
7. Who Is He
Length: 03:43
8. Hello Like Before
Length: 06:26
9. Just the Two of Us
Length: 04:24
10. Hope She'll Be Happier
Length: 04:49
11. The Same Love That Made Me Laugh
Length: 03:18
12. Better Off Dead
Length: 04:49
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 54:19
UPC: 602567737353