Contours: Blue Note Tone Poet Series [Vinyl]

Format: Vinyl
Release Date: 3/15/2019
Availability: In Stock

Saxophonist and flutist Sam Rivers followed-up his striking debut Fuchsia Swing Song with the tremendous album Contours, which was recorded at Rudy Van Gelder's Englewood Cliffs, NJ studio in 1965 with a top flight band featuring Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, Herbie Hancock on piano, Ron Carter on bass, and Joe Chambers on drums. The quintet explored four of Rivers' engaging original compositions - "Point of Many Returns" "Dance of the Tripedal" "Euterpe" and "Mellifluous Cacophony" - with a profound spirit of freedom and innovation while keeping a foot firmly planted in Post-Bop. Blue Note Records' Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180gm audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging.

1. Point of Many Returns
Length: 09:24
2. Dance of the Tripedal
Length: 10:10
3. Euterpe
Length: 11:46
4. Mellifluous Cacophony
Length: 09:01
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 40:21
UPC: 602577248993