Introducing Johnny Griffin [Vinyl]

Format: Vinyl
Release Date: 6/14/2019
Availability: In Stock

Tenor saxophonist Johnny Griffin blew out of Chicago and made his debut album for Blue Note Records in 1956 steering a nimble quartet with pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Curly Russell, and drummer Max Roach through a fantastic set of originals and standards. From the blistering opener "Mil Dew" to the loping "Chicago Calling" and bluesy "Nice and Easy" Griffin's staggering technical ability and buoyant swing is readily apparent at every twist and turn. Griffin would follow with two more standout Blue Note albums-A Blowing Session featuring John Coltrane and The Congregation-the next year.

1. Mil Dew
Length: 03:53
2. Chicago Calling
Length: 05:36
3. These Foolish Things
Length: 05:09
4. The Boy Next Door
Length: 04:53
5. Nice and Easy
Length: 04:19
6. It's Alright with Me
Length: 05:00
7. Lover Man
Length: 07:53
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 36:43
UPC: 602577450648