Common Practice

Format: CD
Release Date: 9/20/2019
Label: ECM Records
Availability: In Stock

The latest ECM album to feature pianist Ethan Iverson following last year's duo recording with saxophonist Mark Turner, Temporary Kings, and two lauded discs with the Billy Hart Quartet presents the Brooklyn-based artist at the head of his own quartet in a program of standards and blues, recorded live at Manhattan's famed Village Vanguard. The Guardian has praised the former Bad Plus pianist as "endlessly resourceful," while Time Out New York selected him as one of 25 essential New York jazz icons, describing Iverson as "perhaps NYC's most thoughtful and passionate student of jazz tradition the most admirable sort of artist-scholar." Iverson's quartet for Common Practice features as its prime melodic voice the veteran Tom Harrell, who was voted Trumpeter of the Year in 2018 by the U.S. Jazz Journalists Association. Iverson extols the quality of poetic "vulnerability" in Harrell's playing, particularly in such ballads as "The Man I Love" and "Polka Dots and Moonbeams", two of the album's highlights. Common Practice also courses with an effervescent swing, thanks to the top-flight rhythm team of bassist Ben Street and drummer Eric McPherson, whose subtle invention helps drive Denzil Best's bebop groover "Wee" and two irresistibly bluesy Iverson originals.

1. The Man I Love
Length: 06:26
2. Philadelphia Creamer
Length: 55:09
3. Wee
Length: 05:46
4. I Can't Get's Started
Length: 06:36
5. Sentimental Journey
Length: 04:33
6. Out of Nowhere
Length: 06:32
7. Polka Dots and Moonbeams
Length: 06:01
8. All the Things You Are
Length: 05:51
9. Jed from Teaneck
Length: 06:31
10. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
Length: 05:10
11. I Remember You
Length: 06:25
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 115:00
UPC: 602577833502