Mare Nostrum III

Format: CD
Release Date: 4/12/2019
Label: ACT
Availability: In Stock

Click here to view the Vinyl version.


Many jazz fans have been swayed by shiny wrapping paper only to find that the gift itself was disappointing. This can happen when one impulsively buys an album solely on the basis of its personnel. But Mare Nostrum III—the third album in a trilogy by Italian trumpeter Paolo Fresu, French accordionist Richard Galliano and Swedish pianist Jan Lundgren—is a case of the music being just as impressive as the stellar reputations of the players. The 15-song program contains four original compositions by each member of the trio, along with winning renditions of the Italian classic “I’te Vurria Vasà,” Quincy Jones’ “Love Theme From ‘The Getaway’” and Michel Legrand’s “The Windmills Of Your Mind.” On the latter, a molasses-like tempo enhances the track’s poignancy. Heavy on ballads and relentlessly focused on gorgeous tone, this tearjerker of an album should be issued with a box of tissues. The album’s producer, René Hess, ensures that there’s plenty of “air” in these spacious arrangements, so that listeners can luxuriate in each instrument’s seductive timbre. - DownBeat Magazine Editors' Pick


Click here to read the full review at DownBeat Magazine

1. Blues sur Seine
Length: 04:54
2. Pavese
Length: 04:57
3. Love Land
Length: 04:23
4. The Windmills of Your Mind
Length: 03:38
5. I’te vurria vasà
Length: 04:33
6. Le Jardin des Fées
Length: 05:12
7. Del Soldato in trincea
Length: 02:15
8. Ronneby
Length: 03:37
9. Love Theme from "The Getaway"
Length: 03:10
10. Human Requiem
Length: 04:30
11. Letter to My Mother
Length: 05:09
12. Love in Return
Length: 04:26
13. Perfetta
Length: 03:18
14. The Magic Stroll
Length: 02:59
15. Prayer
Length: 04:13
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 61:14
UPC: 614427987723