Imaginary Archipeligo

Format: CD
Release Date: 5/15/2020
Label: Meta
Availability: In Stock

It’s easy to get lost in Imaginary Archipelago, a cooperative effort by drummer/percussionists Adam Rudolph and Hamid Drake, and saxophonist/flutist Ralph M. Jones—three commanding improvisers with decades of work behind them to prove their mettle.

There’s the thrill of hearing the two veteran percussionists—who as teenagers met in a Chicago drum shop—explore imagined worlds of sound where rhythms jut out of soundscapes as quickly as they’re again submerged in Rudolph’s whirring electronic experiments. Jones serves to sketch out melodies and patterns, as on “Apekweh,” while his bandmates decide to explore a calmer segment of their improvisational skill set. - DownBeat Magazine


Click here to read the full review at DownBeat Magazine

1. Okomibo
Length: 04:52
2. Alima
Length: 05:16
3. Ibak
Length: 10:15
4. Dimahala
Length: 04:46
5. Apekweh
Length: 04:22
6. Madazuba
Length: 07:07
7. Pitek
Length: 10:50
8. Chandirasa
Length: 05:20
9. Suwakaba
Length: 05:06
10. Vajna
Length: 05:44
11. Sorokaba
Length: 02:41
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 66:19
UPC: 638977102429