The Movement Revisited: A Musical Portrait of Four Icons

Format: CD
Release Date: 2/7/2020
Label: Mack Avenue
Availability: In Stock

Christian McBride's The Movement Revisited: A Musical Portrait of Four Icons is a culminating documentation of a richly inspired piece - lauding four key figures of the Civil Rights Movement: Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Malcolm X, Rosa Parks and Muhammad Ali. Marshaling his ever-sharpening skills as a composer, arranger, conductor, musician and lyricist, McBride has created a historically and culturally illuminating five-part suite for an 18-piece big band, chorus and narrators that places the motivating forces as well as the goals of the Civil Rights Movement within a powerfully relevant artistic context. It is a one-from-the-heart project McBride was, apparently, destined to undertake.

1. Overture / The Movement Revisited
Length: 10:43
2. Sister Rosa – Prologue
Length: 03:20
3. Sister Rosa
Length: 06:25
4. Rosa Introduces Malcolm
Length: 03:08
5. Brother Malcolm – Prologue
Length: 02:48
6. Brother Malcolm
Length: 07:35
7. Malcolm Introduces Ali
Length: 01:03
8. Ali Speaks
Length: 02:42
9. Rumble in the Jungle
Length: 05:59
10. Rosa Introduces MLK
Length: 00:40
11. Soldiers (I Have a Dream)
Length: 05:38
12. A View from the Mountaintop
Length: 04:14
13. Apotheosis: November 4th, 2008
Length: 10:26
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 64:41
UPC: 673203108226