Adam's Apple (Bonus Track, Remastered)

Format: CD
Release Date: 9/2/2003
Album Personnel: Herbie Hancock (Piano), Reggie Workman (Acoustic Upright Bass), Joe Chambers (Drums)
Style(s): Post Bop, Hard Bop, Modal
Availability: In Stock

Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone); Herbie Hancock (piano); Reggie Workman (bass); Joe Chambers (drums). Producer: Alfred Lion. Recorded on February 3 & 24, 1966. Includes liner notes by Don Heckman and Michael Cuscuna. Personnel: Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone); Herbie Hancock (piano); Joe Chambers (drums). Audio Remasterer: Rudy Van Gelder. Liner Note Authors: Don Heckman; Bob Blumenthal. Recording information: Van Gelder Studios, Englewood Cliffs, NJ (02/24/1966). Photographer: Francis Wolff. For Adam's Apple Wayne Shorter returned to the simple quartet format for the last time in his solo career. This date from 1966 shows the saxophonist firmly between his modal style of the early '60s and his more experimental avant-garde period that was to come with albums like Schizophrenia and Super Nova. The effect of Shorter's membership in Miles Davis' legendary group is evident, as his improvisations here are more adventurous and his rhythmic drive more pointed and angular than previous efforts. Above all, this session gives us one last look at Shorter at his most unveiled. The soulful opening title track is a direct precursor to the Jazz-Rock style that would dominate the Jazz world in the late '60s and '70s. A more traditional feel is incorporated for the dark "502 Blues (Drinkin' and Drivin'), " a beautiful showcase for Shorter's sensitive side. The bossa nova "El Gaucho" is a highlight and one the saxophonist's most overlooked compositions. Of special note, the classic "Footprints" is presented here for the first time, several months before it was recorded by the Davis group. The delicate ballad "Teru, " the bouncing "Chief Crazy Horse" and the bonus swinger "The Collector" complete this must-have session.

1. Adam's Apple
Length: 06:49
2. 502 Blues (Drinkin' and Drivin')
Length: 06:34
3. El Gaucho
Length: 06:30
4. Footprints
Length: 07:29
5. Teru
Length: 06:12
6. Chief Crazy Horse
Length: 07:34
7. The Collector
Length: 06:54
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 48:02
UPC: 724358091229