We Insist Max Roach's Freedom Now Suite [Vinyl]

Format: Vinyl
Release Date: 12/18/2020
Availability: Backorder

Sowing Records present a reissue of We Insist! Max Roach's Freedom Now Suite, originally released in 1960 on Candid Records. One of the major statements in the history of Jazz and African American liberation movements. Max Roach's Freedom Now Suite consists of five original compositions and performances staging and celebrating different moments and aspects of the African American history and culture. Here is a wonderful cast of musicians reunited around Max Roach (drums) and Abbey Lincoln (vocals). Throughout the album you can find great contributions from the likes of Booker Little (trumpet), Julian Priester (trombone), Walter Benton (tenor saxophones), James Schenk (bass), and three percussionists Michael Olatunji, Raymond Mantilla, and Tomas du Vall. Highlights include the highly intense triptych for drum and voice by Roach and Lincoln and a special appearance of tenor sax giant Coleman Hawkins on the opening "Driva' Man".

1. Driva'man
Length: 05:18
2. Freedom Day
Length: 06:09
3. Triptych: Prayer / Protest / Peace
Length: 08:10
4. All Africa
Length: 08:02
5. Tears for Johannesburg
Length: 09:42
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 37:21
UPC: 7427116347677