Format: CD
Release Date: 8/26/2014
Style(s): Post Bop
Availability: In Stock

Three ‘heavy weights’ of American jazz, saxophonist Oliver Lake, bassist Reggie Workman and percussionist Andrew Cyrille make up Trio 3. For their 6th Intakt album, ‘Wiring’, they have added pianist Vijay Iyer to the line-up, the fourth guest piano player to perform with Trio 3, following in the footsteps of Irène Schweizer, Geri Allen and Jason Moran. In the summer of 2013, Lake, Workman and Cyrille invited Mr. Iyer for a weeklong residency at New York’s ‘Birdland’ jazz club before setting about to record this album. The late Amiri Baraka wrote in the liner notes: “If you want to hear real music not some kind of shallow “entertainment” this is your number, four great musicians trying to change your world. There is nothing superficial or frivolous in this music, it is organic and necessary! Within this quartet is a flood of emotional worlds, each a way of seeing “into things”.

1. The Prowl
Length: 06:42
2. Synapse, Pt. 2
Length: 06:11
3. Willow Song
Length: 07:58
4. Shave
Length: 07:01
5. Rosmarie
Length: 06:39
6. Suite for Trayvon (And Thousands More), Slimm, Pt. 1
Length: 05:11
7. Suite for Trayvon (And Thousands More), Fallacies, Pt. 2
Length: 07:34
8. Suite for Trayvon (And Thousands More), Adagio, Pt. 3
Length: 04:19
9. Wiring
Length: 04:10
10. Chiara
Length: 07:41
11. Tribute to Bu
Length: 06:26
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 69:52
UPC: 7640120192334