Noise of Our Time

Format: CD
Release Date: 9/21/2018
Style(s): Free
Availability: In Stock

It was only during Ken Vandermark's residency at the Jazz club The Stone in January 2016 that Vandermark found himself in the same vicinity as Nate Wooley, Sylvie Courvoisier and Tom Rainey. A year later they went into the studio with nine compositions three each by Courvoisier, Vandermark and Wooley. These four musicians have well-documented, distinct personalities which, in this context, results in performances full of surprises, rich contrasts and shared responsibilities. The music sounds thoughtful, but never over-wrought. They play by intuition, yet retain a vivid complexity. Creating, not reviving as a way to evolve and to keep going forward in all directions.


Click here for an exclusive interview with pianist Sylvie Courvoisier

1. Checkpoint (Sylvie Courvoisier)
Length: 05:03
2. Track and Field (Ken Vandermark)
Length: 06:39
3. Sparks (Sylvie Courvoisier)
Length: 03:44
4. The Space Between the Teeth (Nate Wooley)
Length: 06:12
5. Tag (Ken Vandermark)
Length: 04:32
6. Songs of Innocence ( Nate Wooley)
Length: 04:17
7. VWCR (Sylvie Courvoisier)
Length: 04:00
8. Truth Through Mass Individuation (Nate Wooley)
Length: 04:03
9. Simple Cut (Ken Vandermark)
Length: 05:41
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 44:11
UPC: 7640120193102