Manoir de mes Rêves

Format: CD
Release Date: 7/5/2019
Availability: In Stock

Guitar greats Philip Catherine and Paulo Morello got to know and appreciate each other in 2010 jamming together at the Burghausen Jazz Festival. In 2017 they teamed up with bassist Sven Faller to start a real collaboration. The chemistry of this trio turned out to be just right and lead to a number of well-received concerts. After successfully continuing their tour in 2018 they decided it was time to document their efforts in a recording. They named it after one of their favorite compositions by European jazz pioneer Django Reinhardt: ''Manoir de mes Rêves''. A lot of the group's repertoire is based on material originating from Paris in the 50's and 60's - compositions, that Philip Catherine was fond of when he was a young man - like ''Les Amoureux des Bancs Publics'' by Georges Brassens. ''Pas Encore'' was composed by Henri Salvador and is based on lyrics by Boris Vian. Salvador, who briefly played in Django Reinhardt's group was a major force in French music. Reinhardt himself is represented not only by the title track but also by his composition ''Swing 39'' and the jazz standards ''Insensiblement'' and ''I'll See You in my Dreams'' that rank among his signature tunes. ''Jardin d'Hiver'' is by French jazz organ great Eddy Louiss. Also from the 60's is the famous Bossa Nova ''Recado'', that proves to be a perfect vehicle for the trio's strengths. Newer material include two songs associated with Belgian singer Maurane: ''Les Uns contre les Autres'' (written by France Gall's husband Michel Berger) which Philip played after her recent death. ''Enfant des Etoiles'' was written for Maurane by Philip's Belgian friend Evert Verhees. One of the highlights of the album is piano player Nicola Andrioli's composition ''To Philip''.

1. Les amoureux des bancs publics
Length: 03:15
2. Manoir de mes rêves
Length: 04:49
3. To Philip
Length: 04:04
4. L'ombrelle et le parapluie
Length: 03:13
5. Recado
Length: 06:03
6. Insensiblement
Length: 04:34
7. Claudia's Delight
Length: 03:27
8. Jardin d'hiver
Length: 03:40
9. Les uns contre les autres
Length: 03:47
10. Pas encore
Length: 03:28
11. Enfant des etoiles
Length: 03:24
12. I'll See You in My Dreams
Length: 03:28
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 47:12
UPC: 767522976823