Format: CD
Release Date: 2/19/2021
Label: OA2
Availability: Backorder

'. . . one of the most brilliant and imaginative contemporary composers of mainstream jazz. . . stimulating and emotive original music with a rare blend of sophistication and organic spontaneity. ' - Chicago Jazz Magazine. Not a stranger to the idea of infusing one's art with examinations of societal conditions, Grammy-winning trumpeter Charlie Porter follows 2019's 'Immigration Nation' with thoughts of how we act in hindsight to deal with the collateral damage of 'progress' and the centuries-old struggles with racism, inequality and corruption. Born during the upheavals of 2020, 'Hindsight' reflects the tumult, uncertainty, and fiery emotions of the times, yet with the recent birth of his son and thoughts of how we're going to leave the planet for the next generation, his 'For Ellis' closes the album with a gospel choir and a hymn of hope. Joining Porter on the wide-ranging set of originals are saxophonist Nick Biello, pianist Orrin Evans, guitarist Mike Moreno, bassists David Wong & Damian Erskine, Behn Gillece on vibes, drummer Kenneth Salters, along with several guest performers. 'Porter's playing is fluid, expressive, and magnificent. ' - DOWNBEAT

1. Tipping Point
2. Hindsi
3. Walking the Plank
4. Things Fall Apart
5. Requiem
6. In Short Supply
7. Going Viral
8. Paradise Lost
9. For Ellis
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 00:00
UPC: 805552218626