Art Pepper Presents West Coast Sessions, Vol. 1: Sonny Stitt

Format: CD
Release Date: 2/3/2017
Album Personnel: Russ Freeman (Piano), Lou Levy (Piano), John Heard (Acoustic Upright Bass), Chuck DeMonico (Acoustic Upright Bass), Carl Burnette (Drums)
Availability: Backorder

Two Japan-only releases combined into one package with 4 bonus tracks - 3 previously unissued! Originally issued as Groovin' High and Atlas Blues: "Blow! & Ballade" by Sonny Stitt and His West Coast Friends in 1980, these two releases are now combined to present the material recorded in July of that year with Stitt and Art Pepper on sax, Russ Freeman and Lou Levy on piano, bassists John Heard and Chuck DeMonico, and Carl Burnette on drums. 12 songs were performed recorded and released to the joy of jazz fans. The albums were originally only issued in Japan. Now as Art Pepper Presents West Coast Sessions, Vol. 1: Sonny Stitt, those two releases are available again. And this time, for the whole world. In addition to a track found on 2001's The Hollywood All-Star Sessions boxed set, this double CD also contains 3 previously unissued takes mixed from the original multi-tracks, and new liner notes from Laurie Pepper.

1. Scrapple from the Apple
2. Wee
3. Bernie's Tune
4. How High the Moon
5. Walkin'
6. Groovin' High
7. Bernie's Tune (Take 1)
8. Bernie's Tune (Take 2)
9. Wee (Take 1)
10. Groovin' High (Alternate Take)
11. Atlas Blues
12. Lester Leaps In
13. Autumn in New York
14. My Funny Valentine
15. Lover Man
Album Details
Disc Count: 2
Total Length: 00:00
UPC: 816651011964