Everything in Between

Format: CD
Release Date: 1/4/2019
Label: Prophone
Availability: In Stock

Anne Mette Iversen writes of her new release with the Norrbotten Big Band: "It has been my great pleasure to work as Composer in Residence for The Norrbotten Big Band this year. During four visits to Lulea I have brought in new music and we have rehearsed, experimented, tried out and tested ideas, gotten to know each other. For me it has been a fantastic experience, a process that has enriched me in various ways as a composer and musician. Apart from having gained experience and learned various technical skills, the most surprising thing I discovered was that it could be a challenge to get the individual musician to take of the 'big band hat' which they usually take on when they sit down in a big band. While there is a use for these 'hats' or for 'standard big band musician practicies'; I find that in creative music, there is easily more room for more individual responsibility and approach. I have tried to make room for that, and it is my hope that a little bit of this shines through in the music we are presenting [on this album]. It is a constant goal for me to present my music as 'complete' and fully rounded in terms of idea, musical balance and presentation. Whether on album level or individual song level, I attempt to create a balanced composition with a sense of purpose that conveys an overall emotional message."

1. The Big (Band) Bang I
Length: 13:47
2. The Big (Band) Bang II
Length: 09:21
3. Mirrors on the Sea
Length: 09:07
4. A Lighthouse Blinks in the Northern Sky
Length: 11:06
5. Fallin' Piece
Length: 02:36
6. Vitaminas
Length: 09:37
7. Dance of Time
Length: 10:39
8. Swing of the Time
Length: 07:46
9. Bechstein Ballad
Length: 07:54
10. The Big (Band) Crounch
Length: 15:49
Album Details
Disc Count: 2
Total Length: 97:42
UPC: 822359001909