Freedom Suite (Bonus Tracks, Remastered)

Format: CD
Release Date: 6/3/2008
Album Personnel: Oscar Pettiford (Acoustic Upright Bass), Max Roach (Drums)
Style(s): Hard Bop

By February of 1958, when Sonny Rollins recorded Freedom Suite, his political consciousness had risen to match the poetic scope of his music. In addressing his place as a creative artist and an African-American, Rollins recognized that both aspects of his being existed under second-class circumstances, and that it was time for this country to review these inequities. In recording with bassist Oscar Pettiford and drummer Max Roach, Rollins aligned himself with the modern jazz innovators who best exemplified his righteous brand of freedom. - AllMusic Guide

1. The Freedom Suite
Length: 19:35
2. Someday I'll Find You
Length: 04:34
3. Will You Still Be Mine?
Length: 02:54
4. Till There Was You
Length: 04:59
5. Shadow Waltz
Length: 04:08
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 36:10
UPC: 888072305076