Infinite Distances

Format: CD
Release Date: 2/10/2017
Album Personnel: Sharel Cassity (Alto Saxophone), Jon Irabagon (Soprano Saxophone), Jeremy Pelt (Trumpet), John Davis (Drums), Mark Ferber (Drums), Peter Brendler (Acoustic Upright Bass), Ariel Alejandro de la Portilla (Acoustic Upright Bass)
Label: Cellar Live
Style(s): Post Bop
Availability: Low Stock

Pianist Noah Haidu, a rising star who previously studied with Kenny Barron and Daved Hazeltine, recently released his third album, Infinite Distances. The leader recruited a top-shelf ensemble for the project, including Jeremy Pelt, Sharel Cassity, and Jon Irabagon. The centerpiece of this compelling album is an original six-part suite, also titled Infinite Distances. The structure and sequence of the suite illustrates Haidu's mastery of pacing, as uptempo blowing sections are interspersed with slower passages that give the listener a satisfying respite from all the impressive fireworks. The suite's third movement, "Hanaya", begins in lovely ballad mode, featuring Haidu's crystalline piano lines, followed by a mellow, engaging alto solo by Cassity, who dials the intensity up, then down, in service to the overall arrangement. The final movement "Guardian of Solitude", showcases Haidu at his kinetic, dynamic best, and the horns punctuate the proceedings with an earworm of a motif. Following the suite, the latter portion of the album includes three songs that Haidu had recorded previously: the original tunes "Momentum" and "Juicy" and an interpretation of Joe Henderson's "Serenity". The earlier versions were recorded in a piano trio setting, but as Haidu expanded the size of his band, he wisely chose to revist the material with his larger sonic palette. - DownBeat Magazine Editors' Pick 

1. The Subversive
2. Infinite Distances: I. Infinite Distances
3. Infinite Distances: II. Against the Sky
4. Infinite Distances: III. Hanaya
5. Infinite Distances: IV. This Great Darkness
6. Infinite Distances: V. Can We Talk
7. Infinite Distances: VI. Guardian of Solitude
8. Momentum
9. They Who??
10. Juicy
11. Serenity
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 00:00
UPC: 888295512824