Format: CD
Release Date: 8/3/2018
Label: Ropeadope
Style(s): Fusion
Availability: Low Stock
Picture of ORIGINS Soleà de Ismael (feat. Ismael Fernández) - Alex Conde Source

Origins is a fusion album from the roots and elements of flamenco (bulerías, soleáres), Afro-Cuban (guaguancó and rumba) and American jazz form. The work is also an exploration of the musical Origins of this international pianist who has traveled the world and explored the roots of Afro-Cuban music and jazz from a flamenco perspective. African music and it's tradition on percussion are the key of most of the world folkloric rhythms and syncopated accents. During colonial times, Africans were exported as slaves to many geographies, and in the process, their cultural and religious believes as well as their rhythmic patterns landed in the Caribbean, North America and Spain. Consequently, it's not a coincidence that the magic resemblance of the '3+2' rhythmical patterns from Africa is implicit in the most traditional expressions of flamenco, rumba and jazz. For this adventure, Alex Conde had the fortune to team up with worldclass artists from New York City, the Latin-jazz and Jazz "mecca" of the world - Conrad Herwig, Marcus Gilmore, Dayna Stephens, Brian Lynch, Luques Curtis, John Benítez, Camilo Molina and Guillermo Barrón. Alex also counted with the contribution of special guests like the renown Spaniard copla singer Alejandro Conde - his father, who lends his voice for a dramatic rendition of the Spanish classic "El Emigrante", Ismael Fernandez, who leads the charge in "Soleá de Ismael", and the up-andcoming jazz guitarist from New York City Andres Abenante.

1. Bulerijazz (feat. John Benítez)
Length: 06:49
2. Upper West Side (feat. John Benítez)
Length: 05:43
3. Spring Break
Length: 09:15
4. La Leyenda del Tiempo (feat. Ismael Fernández)
Length: 04:20
5. Jungle Street (feat. Camilo Molina)
Length: 10:07
6. The Great Priest
Length: 04:37
7. El Emigrante (feat. Alejandro Conde Sr.)
Length: 04:38
8. Soleà de Ismael (feat. Ismael Fernández)
Length: 06:34
9. Descarga por Bulerías (feat. John Benítez)
Length: 10:42
10. El Emigrante Instrumental
Length: 04:40
Album Details
Disc Count: 1
Total Length: 67:25
UPC: 888295775984